skip to main content

Glen Cove Athletes Honored at Nassau County Football Gridiron Dinner

121515-gc-1.jpg thumbnail54081
Coach_Kopecky_100th_Win.jpg thumbnail54082
Team_FB_County_Dinner.jpg thumbnail54083
Coach_Kopecky_Bill_Piner_and_Gaetano.jpg thumbnail54084
Coaches: Pete Kopecky, Steve Tripp, Will Martinez and Mark Pnini
The Nassau County Football Gridiron Dinner at the Crest Hollow Country Club on Dec. 9 wrapped up the 2015 season, where Big Red qualified for the playoffs for the fourth consecutive year and advanced to the finals, making them the Conference III Big Four Champions.
Bill Piner Award: Senior Gaetano Famiglietti
The Bill Piner Award is presented each year to the most outstanding linebacker in Nassau County. It was created in 1977 as a symbol of appreciation for Bill's lasting contributions and dedication to Nassau County football. The award includes a scholarship. The linebacker represents the heart and soul of a football team's defense and provides the inspiration and leadership necessary to any successful football team.
For more information about Gaetano's Award Click here


County Final Offense MVP: Senior Mike Payton 

County Final Defense MVP: Christian Guevara
All-County: Gaetano Famiglietti, senior David Bull and senior Sharayad Letellier
Honorable Mention All-County: Senior Tim Hogan
All-Conference: Seniors Corey Dinkins and Will Beglin
100th Career Win: Coach Peter Kopecky
Jack Boyle Award, Assistant Coach of the Year: Steve Tripp (finalist) 

Team: Conference III Big 4 Champions

Congratulations, Big Red! You make Glen Cove proud!
The 2016 season will be the 100th year for Glen Cove Football.
Big Red History of Glen Cove Football

County Champions:
1931 and 1932: Undefeated, Unscored Upon
1943 and 1949: Undefeated and Rutger's Cup
1998: Conference III County Champions
Big Four Champions: 1984, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2004, 2012, 2013, 2015
Quarter Finalists: 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015
Thorpe Award: Lou Britt, 1949
Kessinich Award: Jesus Marcano, 1995 and Eric Tripp, 2008
All-Long Island: Clyde Riggins, 1978 and Ryan Fletcher, 1996